Hwange National Park


  5 reviews
This review has been seen 440 times.
Reviewed by:
  • Travel writer Travel writer

Intergenerational Birdwatching

Written on: January 24, 2014   |   I visited in December 2013 One of the nice things about going on safaris is that it appeals to all ages. Young children, teenagers, parents and grandparents can all have fun doing something together.

Last December, my extended family and I spent two nights at Hwange National Park. The age range of our group was from 7 to 72, and we all had a wonderful time. We stayed at Main Camp. The chalets were clean, but basic. There is a restaurant and bar onsite, and we appreciated not having to do the cooking and washing up.

Although the game density in Hwange is high, this was the rainy season, and we didn't see that many animals. But the birdlife was prolific! One of the youngsters had downloaded a bird guide on his iPhone. This app had pictures and an interactive map that helps you identify birds by using your location. But the most amazing thing was that it had bird sounds! We spent hours spotting birds, listening to their sound, and using the app to identify them.
Quality of wildlife
Crowdedness*
Quality of lodging
Overall rating
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
11 people gave this review kudus.
Reviewed by:

(5/5 stars) Written on: Feb 10, 2015   |   Visited: May 2014.
Hwange is particularly renowned for its great elephant herds. Extended family groups of close to a hundred elephant can be found. An excellent chance to observe interaction between the generations and peers. This is the place to see Elephant, and hundreds of them!! Enormous herds flow to the different water holes created in the area. read more
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
12 people gave this review kudus.
Reviewed by:

(4/5 stars) Written on: Jul 21, 2014   |   Visited: Apr 2014.
Visited Hwange on the heels of my visit to Victoria Falls. I was pleasantly surprised with this park and really loved the lodging there. It wasn't high season for me, so they weren't over-crowded. I did a self-drive safari and found it fairly easy. I would recommend going with a group. I went with three other friends and felt safe. read more

I saw

Elephant
Giraffe
Zebra
Baboon
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
11 people gave this review kudus.

(4/5 stars) Written on: Feb 08, 2014   |   Visited: Oct 2011.
Driving into Hwange National Park for the first time, I didn't really know what to make of it. The park was virtually devoid of any and all tourists, and this was made more apparent when my small party pulled into Sukumi Tree Lodge and we ended up being the only guests at the resort for three days. The apparent desolation aside, we headed into the park at the crack... read more
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
12 people gave this review kudus.
Reviewed by:
** Safari guru **

(4/5 stars) Written on: May 17, 2013   |   Visited: Mar 2010.
Hwange’s a brilliant park located not too far from Victoria Falls making it the ideal game park should you wish to get the best of Africa in one short visit. This was the first ever game park I visited, before returning to Africa to work for three years.

We’d originally planned to do a day trip here but were advised against it because the roads from Vic Falls w... read more
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
12 people gave this review kudus.

Safari tour packages (40)   See all tour packages

Change currency:
This is a review for:
Hwange National Park
Enlarge map to see all parks and current weather
Quality of wildlife

Crowdedness*

Quality of lodging

Overall rating

See all 5 reviews

Moody writer also reviewed

Moody writer shared a highlight

Moody writer

iPhone app with bird sounds - a gem for birdwatchers!

Moody writer saw these animals

Elephant
Elephant
Giraffe
Giraffe
Impala
Impala
Expand/Reduce animals

Moody writer did these activities

Bird watching
Bird watching
Game drives
Game drives
Photography
Photography
Shortlisted tour operators You can shortlist up to
5 tour operators