Amboseli National Park


  33 reviews
This review has been seen 627 times.
Reviewed by:
** Safari guru **
  • Safari enthusiast Safari enthusiast

A ride in the salty dust

Written on: May 14, 2013   |   I visited in March 2013 Found in the great Rift valley province of Kenya Amboseli national park is the second most popular park in Kenya. We had to leave early as the was only a one day experience so by the break of dawn we got on a self drive from Nairobi to loitoktok where the park is located, most of us slept through the long but quick journey and by 9a.m we were already there which was perfect timing. First we had to go to the park head quarters offices which was already swarmed with visitors from 6a.m to be issued with a safari card. The safari card would be topped up with what we were to pay for the visit. With that cleared we were ready for our extravaganza which quite unique from my other safaris. In this safari I enjoyed my wilderness experience on a horse back, yes on a horse back. Many people would not go for this option as it seems risky but there are professional guides and horsemen/women who accompany you on the ride. On the horseback we could see the spectacular savannah grassland spread across the Kenya-Tanzania border combined with swampy springs and dry dusty earth trampled by hundreds of animals also the view of the breathtaking mount Kilimanjaro, the highest free-standing mountain in the world. The horse ride lasted for only one hour and we had to get off into a vehicle due to the rules in the park to stay in your vehicle to avoid harassing the wildlife. Now in our vehicle driven by a tour guide we could see herds of elephants drinking from the surface springs. The park is renowned for its elephants such that there are so many of them that their penchant for pushing down trees is destroying the habitat that sustains them. We saw big old bull elephants carrying the largest tusks to be seen anywhere in Africa. This is one of the prides of the Amboseli. There was also wild beast, zebras, giraffes, lions, leopards that were roaming in the savannah ecosystem of the Amboseli.

Bird viewing is also extremely good filled with different types of birds which include pelicans, kingfishers and eagles. After the exciting ride in the vast Amboseli park we did the last activity of the day which was a balloon safari. Floating on a hot air balloon over the savannah is magical. We took off at dusk and experience the sunset as the warm rays of the sun felt on our skin, drifting with the whim of the wind, overlooking the plains and catch a bird’s eye view of the national park. We floated over the great mount Kilimanjaro and the view of the crater from the sky was enough to fill me with memories to last a lifetime I made it a Kodak moment and took the photos I could.
The one hour ride on the hot air balloon was a fantastic way to end our journey. We left our safari card at the exit and all we could do is review on the photos we took and talk about the awesome experience on our way back.
Quality of wildlife
Crowdedness*
Quality of lodging
Overall rating
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
12 people gave this review kudus.
Showing the 10 most recent reviews See all reviews
Reviewed by:
** Safari guru **

(5/5 stars) Written on: Aug 30, 2017   |   Visited: Aug 2017.
You will see wild elephants and other animals at close range. Mount Kilimanjaro is very clear. An open savannahs park easy to locate animals. I would highly recommend a very early morning drive; this will ensure you get to see most of the wild animals. While in the park, always view the animals while inside your vehicle, only alight at designated spots, safety first! read more
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
4 people gave this review kudus.

(4/5 stars) Written on: Apr 26, 2017   |   Visited: Apr 2017.
Amboseli National Park 'packs' it all in one package--big game, bird watching and cultural safaris. Being a semi-arid region Amboseli is amazing because it has water bodies that sustain life all year round.
This is a must-visit safari destination for anyone visiting Kenya and wishing to see soak-in the beauty of nature and wildlife. read more
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
0 people gave this review kudus.
Reviewed by:

(5/5 stars) Written on: Mar 27, 2017   |   Visited: Mar 2017.
Amboseli National Park is one of the best places to see elephants in Kenya. In addition to the elephants, you are sure to see the zebra, gnu (wildebeest), hippopotamus, buffalo, spotted hyena, waterbuck, Maasai giraffe, Thomson's and Grant's gazelle, impala, lion and cheetah.
It was incredible to see the Mt.Kilimanjaro with snow on the top so beautiful. The elepha... read more
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
1 person gave this review kudus.
Reviewed by:

(4/5 stars) Written on: Mar 14, 2017   |   Visited: Feb 2017.
Amboseli national park offer the best view of mt Kilimanjaro and has a lot of animals to see: elephants, lions, buffalo and many more. Accommodation and meals were very nice. read more
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
0 people gave this review kudus.
Reviewed by:

(4/5 stars) Written on: Feb 27, 2017   |   Visited: Apr 2014.
Amboseli National Park is the only park that features big herds of elephants. It was excellent to see these herds of Elephants.
You best to enjoy it. read more
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
3 people gave this review kudus.
Reviewed by:

(5/5 stars) Written on: Jan 09, 2017   |   Visited: Sep 2016.
We had a great time in Amboseli. The ease of spotting wildlife was fun. There were group upon groups of elephants and sometimes very close to our vehicle.

We saw lions, a leopard and a cheetah family with three young cubs, very beautiful. The landscapes are awe-inspiring with excellent photo opportunities.

Amboseli is a wonderfull park and two nights are jus... read more
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
5 people gave this review kudus.
Reviewed by:

(4/5 stars) Written on: Jul 01, 2016   |   Visited: Jan 2016.
Amboseli National park, although small, offered amazing interaction with elephants as well as other animals. Morning and afternoon they would come from or go to the water. Had great very close up encounters. The park can be experienced in just a day and a bit. Any longer and you'll be going over the same areas. read more

I saw

Lion
Elephant
Giraffe
Hyena
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
9 people gave this review kudus.
Reviewed by:

(5/5 stars) Written on: Mar 04, 2016   |   Visited: Feb 2016.
Elephants paradise, everywhere you look. Scenic and picturesque park with great views. Spectacular views of Mt. Kilimanjaro. The skyline is dominated by wonderful views of the magnificent Mt. Kilimanjaro. read more
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
9 people gave this review kudus.
Reviewed by:

(5/5 stars) Written on: Feb 25, 2016   |   Visited: Dec 2015.
Our safari to Amboseli was absolutely wonderful and very exciting. Our guide was a really nice person, who had a great feeling for the animals and knows everything about them. The lodges were wonderful and made this trip to a highlight of our trip. read more
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
11 people gave this review kudus.
Reviewed by:

(5/5 stars) Written on: Dec 01, 2015   |   Visited: Jan 2015.
Amboseli National park is one of the most popular wildlife sanctuaries in Kenya. The Park is famed for the largest elephant herds and beautiful views of Mt Kilimanjaro. read more

I saw

Lion
Elephant
Giraffe
Ostrich
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
9 people gave this review kudus.
Showing the 10 most recent reviews See all reviews

Safari tour packages (412)   See all tour packages

Change currency:
This is a review for:
Amboseli National Park
Enlarge map to see all parks and current weather
Quality of wildlife

Crowdedness*

Quality of lodging

Overall rating

See all 33 reviews

Lynn also reviewed

Lynn shared a highlight

Lynn

Make sure you get on the horse ride

Lynn saw these animals

Elephant
Elephant
Giraffe
Giraffe
Wildebeest
Wildebeest
Expand/Reduce animals

Lynn did these activities

Horseback riding
Horseback riding
Shortlisted tour operators You can shortlist up to
5 tour operators