Amboseli National Park


  32 reviews
This review has been seen 267 times.
Reviewed by:
  • Safari enthusiast Safari enthusiast

Paradise on Earth

Written on: January 20, 2014   |   I visited in January 2012 This beautiful national park is located near the Kenya-Tanzania border south of Kenya's capital city Nairobi. It is easily accessible and one can travel by road or air.
Amboseli did not disappoint as it delivered everything that I had been promised. The national park is said to be the best place to view elephants as it has one of the largest elephant populations in Kenya. The park is also famed for offering a spectacular view of Mt. Kilimanjaro in Tanzania. I got to see the breathtaking mountain at sunrise and I can promise you for that moment you will be transported to paradise on earth. One can take balloon safaris early in the morning and get to experience the natural beauty from above. This is definitely one of the best ways to view Mt. Kilimanjaro.
In the evening I got to enjoy watching performances by the Masai which is the best way to enjoy your evening. I took some time and went to the nearby Chyulu Hills for a little horse back riding.
This was undoubtedly one of the best safaris I've ever taken.
Quality of wildlife
Crowdedness*
Quality of lodging
Lodging not used
Overall rating
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
12 people gave this review kudus.
Showing the 10 most recent reviews See all reviews

(4/5 stars) Written on: Apr 26, 2017   |   Visited: Apr 2017.
Amboseli National Park 'packs' it all in one package--big game, bird watching and cultural safaris. Being a semi-arid region Amboseli is amazing because it has water bodies that sustain life all year round.
This is a must-visit safari destination for anyone visiting Kenya and wishing to see soak-in the beauty of nature and wildlife. read more
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
0 people gave this review kudus.
Reviewed by:

(5/5 stars) Written on: Mar 27, 2017   |   Visited: Mar 2017.
Amboseli National Park is one of the best places to see elephants in Kenya. In addition to the elephants, you are sure to see the zebra, gnu (wildebeest), hippopotamus, buffalo, spotted hyena, waterbuck, Maasai giraffe, Thomson's and Grant's gazelle, impala, lion and cheetah.
It was incredible to see the Mt.Kilimanjaro with snow on the top so beautiful. The elepha... read more
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
1 person gave this review kudus.
Reviewed by:

(4/5 stars) Written on: Mar 14, 2017   |   Visited: Feb 2017.
Amboseli national park offer the best view of mt Kilimanjaro and has a lot of animals to see: elephants, lions, buffalo and many more. Accommodation and meals were very nice. read more
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
0 people gave this review kudus.
Reviewed by:

(4/5 stars) Written on: Feb 27, 2017   |   Visited: Apr 2014.
Amboseli National Park is the only park that features big herds of elephants. It was excellent to see these herds of Elephants.
You best to enjoy it. read more
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
3 people gave this review kudus.
Reviewed by:

(5/5 stars) Written on: Jan 09, 2017   |   Visited: Sep 2016.
We had a great time in Amboseli. The ease of spotting wildlife was fun. There were group upon groups of elephants and sometimes very close to our vehicle.

We saw lions, a leopard and a cheetah family with three young cubs, very beautiful. The landscapes are awe-inspiring with excellent photo opportunities.

Amboseli is a wonderfull park and two nights are jus... read more
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
5 people gave this review kudus.
Reviewed by:

(4/5 stars) Written on: Jul 01, 2016   |   Visited: Jan 2016.
Amboseli National park, although small, offered amazing interaction with elephants as well as other animals. Morning and afternoon they would come from or go to the water. Had great very close up encounters. The park can be experienced in just a day and a bit. Any longer and you'll be going over the same areas. read more

I saw

Lion
Elephant
Giraffe
Hyena
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
9 people gave this review kudus.
Reviewed by:

(5/5 stars) Written on: Mar 04, 2016   |   Visited: Feb 2016.
Elephants paradise, everywhere you look. Scenic and picturesque park with great views. Spectacular views of Mt. Kilimanjaro. The skyline is dominated by wonderful views of the magnificent Mt. Kilimanjaro. read more
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
9 people gave this review kudus.
Reviewed by:

(5/5 stars) Written on: Feb 25, 2016   |   Visited: Dec 2015.
Our safari to Amboseli was absolutely wonderful and very exciting. Our guide was a really nice person, who had a great feeling for the animals and knows everything about them. The lodges were wonderful and made this trip to a highlight of our trip. read more
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
11 people gave this review kudus.
Reviewed by:

(5/5 stars) Written on: Dec 01, 2015   |   Visited: Jan 2015.
Amboseli National park is one of the most popular wildlife sanctuaries in Kenya. The Park is famed for the largest elephant herds and beautiful views of Mt Kilimanjaro. read more

I saw

Lion
Elephant
Giraffe
Ostrich
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
9 people gave this review kudus.
Reviewed by:

(4/5 stars) Written on: Nov 30, 2015   |   Visited: Sep 1996.
Crowned by Mount Kilimanjaro, Africa's highest peak, the Amboseli National Parks is one of Kenya's most popular parks. The name "Amboseli" comes from a Maasai word meaning "salty dust", and it is one of the best places in Africa to view large herds of elephants up close. Nature lovers can explore five different habitats here ranging from the dried-up bed of Lake Am... read more
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
10 people gave this review kudus.
Showing the 10 most recent reviews See all reviews

Safari tour packages (367)   See all tour packages

Change currency:
This is a review for:
Amboseli National Park
Enlarge map to see all parks and current weather
Quality of wildlife

Crowdedness*

Quality of lodging

Overall rating

See all 32 reviews

Koi also reviewed

Koi shared a highlight

Koi

Amboseli can be quite hot so dress accordingly.

Koi saw these animals

African buffalo
African buffalo
Cheetah
Cheetah
Dik dik
Dik dik
Expand/Reduce animals

Koi did these activities

Horseback riding
Horseback riding
Cultural / Tribal visits
Cultural / Tribal visits
Game drives
Game drives
Expand/Reduce activities
Shortlisted tour operators You can shortlist up to
5 tour operators