Amboseli National Park


  32 reviews
This review has been seen 257 times.
Reviewed by:
  • Safari enthusiast Safari enthusiast

Thrills at Amboseli National Park

Written on: October 09, 2013   |   I visited in June 2013 Travelling south from Nairobi to the Kajiado County, I cannot contain my excitement. We are headed to the world renowned Amboseli National Park. On the outskirts of the park, I can see herds of cattle watched over by the world famous Maasai Morans. When we arrive at the gates, a tour guide formally informs us of the rules. The rules includes no one should alight from the vehicle until we reach designated areas. The guide casually informs us that it is for our protection and the protection of the animals. As we embark on our travel inside the park, we encounter more Maasai people and the landscape is with makeshift structures. These are the temporary shelters that are built by the Maasai. At this juncture, I can see various birds. The guide informs us that those who are interested in taking pictures of birds can look around for available species. In the interior, we are thrilled to see herds of African elephants, zebras, and impalas. The tour was marked by surprises because once in a while a predator would emerge. There were also packs of lions to be viewed. Bird watchers too were given a time of their life. There were many birds that flocked the horizon. In the sparse shrubs, there were many nests where various birds rear their hatchlings and spend the nights. However, the hallmark of the trip was the view of the magnificent Mt. Kilimanjaro. Towards the southern part of Amboseli National Park, we were offered a spectacular view of the mountain. In one of the designated areas where we could alight from the vehicle, we were treated to one of the best views of the mountain. We were not disturbed by the fact that there was evidence of a recent kill in the area. According to the tour guide, it was probably a leopard that had killed a small game and had taken it up a tree and there was no reason for us to anticipate any problem from the leopard. On our way back, we met the Maasai communities who were eager to share us some of their food samplings. We soon realized that they were only interested on foreigners who were most likely to give them hand outs. Nevertheless, the trip was very thrilling and one can easily lost track of the number of games that one has viewed because of their abundance in Amboseli National Park.
Quality of wildlife
Crowdedness*
Quality of lodging
Lodging not used
Overall rating
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
12 people gave this review kudus.
Showing the 10 most recent reviews See all reviews

(4/5 stars) Written on: Apr 26, 2017   |   Visited: Apr 2017.
Amboseli National Park 'packs' it all in one package--big game, bird watching and cultural safaris. Being a semi-arid region Amboseli is amazing because it has water bodies that sustain life all year round.
This is a must-visit safari destination for anyone visiting Kenya and wishing to see soak-in the beauty of nature and wildlife. read more
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
0 people gave this review kudus.
Reviewed by:

(5/5 stars) Written on: Mar 27, 2017   |   Visited: Mar 2017.
Amboseli National Park is one of the best places to see elephants in Kenya. In addition to the elephants, you are sure to see the zebra, gnu (wildebeest), hippopotamus, buffalo, spotted hyena, waterbuck, Maasai giraffe, Thomson's and Grant's gazelle, impala, lion and cheetah.
It was incredible to see the Mt.Kilimanjaro with snow on the top so beautiful. The elepha... read more
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
1 person gave this review kudus.
Reviewed by:

(4/5 stars) Written on: Mar 14, 2017   |   Visited: Feb 2017.
Amboseli national park offer the best view of mt Kilimanjaro and has a lot of animals to see: elephants, lions, buffalo and many more. Accommodation and meals were very nice. read more
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
0 people gave this review kudus.
Reviewed by:

(4/5 stars) Written on: Feb 27, 2017   |   Visited: Apr 2014.
Amboseli National Park is the only park that features big herds of elephants. It was excellent to see these herds of Elephants.
You best to enjoy it. read more
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
3 people gave this review kudus.
Reviewed by:

(5/5 stars) Written on: Jan 09, 2017   |   Visited: Sep 2016.
We had a great time in Amboseli. The ease of spotting wildlife was fun. There were group upon groups of elephants and sometimes very close to our vehicle.

We saw lions, a leopard and a cheetah family with three young cubs, very beautiful. The landscapes are awe-inspiring with excellent photo opportunities.

Amboseli is a wonderfull park and two nights are jus... read more
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
5 people gave this review kudus.
Reviewed by:

(4/5 stars) Written on: Jul 01, 2016   |   Visited: Jan 2016.
Amboseli National park, although small, offered amazing interaction with elephants as well as other animals. Morning and afternoon they would come from or go to the water. Had great very close up encounters. The park can be experienced in just a day and a bit. Any longer and you'll be going over the same areas. read more

I saw

Lion
Elephant
Giraffe
Hyena
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
9 people gave this review kudus.
Reviewed by:

(5/5 stars) Written on: Mar 04, 2016   |   Visited: Feb 2016.
Elephants paradise, everywhere you look. Scenic and picturesque park with great views. Spectacular views of Mt. Kilimanjaro. The skyline is dominated by wonderful views of the magnificent Mt. Kilimanjaro. read more
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
9 people gave this review kudus.
Reviewed by:

(5/5 stars) Written on: Feb 25, 2016   |   Visited: Dec 2015.
Our safari to Amboseli was absolutely wonderful and very exciting. Our guide was a really nice person, who had a great feeling for the animals and knows everything about them. The lodges were wonderful and made this trip to a highlight of our trip. read more
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
11 people gave this review kudus.
Reviewed by:

(5/5 stars) Written on: Dec 01, 2015   |   Visited: Jan 2015.
Amboseli National park is one of the most popular wildlife sanctuaries in Kenya. The Park is famed for the largest elephant herds and beautiful views of Mt Kilimanjaro. read more

I saw

Lion
Elephant
Giraffe
Ostrich
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
9 people gave this review kudus.
Reviewed by:

(4/5 stars) Written on: Nov 30, 2015   |   Visited: Sep 1996.
Crowned by Mount Kilimanjaro, Africa's highest peak, the Amboseli National Parks is one of Kenya's most popular parks. The name "Amboseli" comes from a Maasai word meaning "salty dust", and it is one of the best places in Africa to view large herds of elephants up close. Nature lovers can explore five different habitats here ranging from the dried-up bed of Lake Am... read more
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
10 people gave this review kudus.
Showing the 10 most recent reviews See all reviews

Safari tour packages (391)   See all tour packages

Change currency:
This is a review for:
Amboseli National Park
Enlarge map to see all parks and current weather
Quality of wildlife

Crowdedness*

Quality of lodging

Overall rating

See all 32 reviews

Waingich also reviewed

Waingich shared a highlight

Waingich

In the months of April and November, carry clothing suitable for wet climates and insist on a four whell drive.

Waingich saw these animals

African buffalo
African buffalo
Rhinoceros
Rhinoceros
Elephant
Elephant
Expand/Reduce animals

Waingich did these activities

Bird watching
Bird watching
Game drives
Game drives
Shortlisted tour operators You can shortlist up to
5 tour operators