Amboseli National Park


  33 reviews
This review has been seen 586 times.
Reviewed by:
** Safari guru **
  • Safari enthusiast Safari enthusiast
  • Top contributor Top contributor

Amboseli, The Elephant Haven.

Written on: September 05, 2013   |   I visited in February 2013 This is a park that I have been to as many times as I can remember. It lies about twenty miles away from my country side home. Out of the many parks I have been to, Amboseli to me stands out as one so full of life! May be it is due to its small size and numerous wild life. Here you don't go searching for wildlife... especially elephants, zebras, buffalos, girraffes and wilderbeeste. They move in massive herds. It is the only park in Africa where you are able to meet hundreds of free ranging elephants in the vast savannah terrain, and some of them get a bit stubborn when they cross a road! For elephant lovers, here you get so much up and close.

The Mt.Kilimanjaro sits majestically behind the park and at some places in the park, you get such a spectacular view.The massive snow cap of the highest point in Africa just 25 miles away. There are two things that I do not like about Amboseli...the dust especially a visit between August and mid November, and the stretch of road there that is so rugged! This however doesn't make it my favorite park any lesser. I love the local people here, the Masai. They have harmoniously lived with the animals and guarded them like their own. The elephants and rhinos of Amboseli have not faced the poachers bullet so much which has threatened their survival in Kenya the recent years. Kudos to the Maasai people who also have a very rich culture.

I cherish every moment I have spent in this park as each of it is spectacular in its own way. Looking forward to my next visit soon.
Quality of wildlife
Crowdedness*
Quality of lodging
Lodging not used
Overall rating
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
10 people gave this review kudus.
Showing the 10 most recent reviews See all reviews
Reviewed by:
** Safari guru **

(5/5 stars) Written on: Aug 30, 2017   |   Visited: Aug 2017.
You will see wild elephants and other animals at close range. Mount Kilimanjaro is very clear. An open savannahs park easy to locate animals. I would highly recommend a very early morning drive; this will ensure you get to see most of the wild animals. While in the park, always view the animals while inside your vehicle, only alight at designated spots, safety first! read more
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
3 people gave this review kudus.

(4/5 stars) Written on: Apr 26, 2017   |   Visited: Apr 2017.
Amboseli National Park 'packs' it all in one package--big game, bird watching and cultural safaris. Being a semi-arid region Amboseli is amazing because it has water bodies that sustain life all year round.
This is a must-visit safari destination for anyone visiting Kenya and wishing to see soak-in the beauty of nature and wildlife. read more
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
0 people gave this review kudus.
Reviewed by:

(5/5 stars) Written on: Mar 27, 2017   |   Visited: Mar 2017.
Amboseli National Park is one of the best places to see elephants in Kenya. In addition to the elephants, you are sure to see the zebra, gnu (wildebeest), hippopotamus, buffalo, spotted hyena, waterbuck, Maasai giraffe, Thomson's and Grant's gazelle, impala, lion and cheetah.
It was incredible to see the Mt.Kilimanjaro with snow on the top so beautiful. The elepha... read more
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
1 person gave this review kudus.
Reviewed by:

(4/5 stars) Written on: Mar 14, 2017   |   Visited: Feb 2017.
Amboseli national park offer the best view of mt Kilimanjaro and has a lot of animals to see: elephants, lions, buffalo and many more. Accommodation and meals were very nice. read more
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
0 people gave this review kudus.
Reviewed by:

(4/5 stars) Written on: Feb 27, 2017   |   Visited: Apr 2014.
Amboseli National Park is the only park that features big herds of elephants. It was excellent to see these herds of Elephants.
You best to enjoy it. read more
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
3 people gave this review kudus.
Reviewed by:

(5/5 stars) Written on: Jan 09, 2017   |   Visited: Sep 2016.
We had a great time in Amboseli. The ease of spotting wildlife was fun. There were group upon groups of elephants and sometimes very close to our vehicle.

We saw lions, a leopard and a cheetah family with three young cubs, very beautiful. The landscapes are awe-inspiring with excellent photo opportunities.

Amboseli is a wonderfull park and two nights are jus... read more
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
5 people gave this review kudus.
Reviewed by:

(4/5 stars) Written on: Jul 01, 2016   |   Visited: Jan 2016.
Amboseli National park, although small, offered amazing interaction with elephants as well as other animals. Morning and afternoon they would come from or go to the water. Had great very close up encounters. The park can be experienced in just a day and a bit. Any longer and you'll be going over the same areas. read more

I saw

Lion
Elephant
Giraffe
Hyena
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
9 people gave this review kudus.
Reviewed by:

(5/5 stars) Written on: Mar 04, 2016   |   Visited: Feb 2016.
Elephants paradise, everywhere you look. Scenic and picturesque park with great views. Spectacular views of Mt. Kilimanjaro. The skyline is dominated by wonderful views of the magnificent Mt. Kilimanjaro. read more
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
9 people gave this review kudus.
Reviewed by:

(5/5 stars) Written on: Feb 25, 2016   |   Visited: Dec 2015.
Our safari to Amboseli was absolutely wonderful and very exciting. Our guide was a really nice person, who had a great feeling for the animals and knows everything about them. The lodges were wonderful and made this trip to a highlight of our trip. read more
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
11 people gave this review kudus.
Reviewed by:

(5/5 stars) Written on: Dec 01, 2015   |   Visited: Jan 2015.
Amboseli National park is one of the most popular wildlife sanctuaries in Kenya. The Park is famed for the largest elephant herds and beautiful views of Mt Kilimanjaro. read more

I saw

Lion
Elephant
Giraffe
Ostrich
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
9 people gave this review kudus.
Showing the 10 most recent reviews See all reviews

Safari tour packages (403)   See all tour packages

Change currency:
This is a review for:
Amboseli National Park
Enlarge map to see all parks and current weather
Quality of wildlife

Crowdedness*

Quality of lodging

Overall rating

See all 33 reviews

Lisa also reviewed

Lisa shared a highlight

Lisa

Amboseli dust... carry a scarf, sunglasses and a hat with a chin strap... they will do you good!

Lisa saw these animals

African buffalo
African buffalo
Baboon
Baboon
Rhinoceros
Rhinoceros
Expand/Reduce animals

Lisa did these activities

Cultural / Tribal visits
Cultural / Tribal visits
Game drives
Game drives
Night drives
Night drives
Expand/Reduce activities
Shortlisted tour operators You can shortlist up to
5 tour operators