RA Safaris

This review has been seen 583 times.
Reviewed by:
  • Safari enthusiast Safari enthusiast

What do you expect more? 期待以上でした。

Written on: January 20, 2015   |   I visited in December 2014 Planning the safari
We had our private guided tour for 10 nights 11 days from Dec. 25th 2014 to Jan. 4th 2015. We chose RA safaris among hundreds of tour operating companies and besides many Japanese affiliated companies because they offered us 1)a quick mail response 2) clear explanations on mails 3) a fair tour cost.

1) We live a busy life. It is exciting to plan a safari tour but, on the other hand, it could be tiresome to do it, especially when we find ourselves lacking time. If you get a slow reply, you could forget what you are trying to plan. RA safaris responded us quickly, within 24 hrs, at anytime.
2) I read bunch of reviews and experience notes and know that everybody has totally different experiences even though they, essentially, visited the same place at the same place. It is easy to say "it depends on luck". But you don’t want to waste your time and money if possible. This is why we searched intensively to get the “today’s” “firsthand” information and increase the prior probability to meet any animals.
Exchanging mails with Mr.Eli taught me more than what I get others’ notes and the guidebook. At first, we planed to visit Lake Natron or Lake Manyara but after all we decide to go to Tarangire national park instead. This is the strong point the local based company has. He said he was willing to change the itinerary whenever we change our minds, so we did twice. Other company’s contact staff just pasted a dozen of links which I felt one-way communication. RA safaris knows how to help “customization” for clients.
3) Again, this is locally-owned company so you can get a contract with a guided company without a mediator. We were very satisfied with a private tour cost. We did a “private tour” because we can chase what we want and we can ask for a stop whenever we want to wait for the action of targeted animals, etc. By the way, during our tour, we felt this was very beneficial. We went to a remote area where any guide could avoid the risk to go but where many animals appear. There were three safari cars guided by N.G, everybody knows the name of the magazine. We felt we could have a chance to take pictures gracing the pages of N.G. Besides, they were 15 people in a group tour and we are 2 at the same spot. They could pay more than double to us for one person.

On safari
We had 10 nights 11 days which was 9 days safari and one day Arusha city tour. Mr. Salehe (or Mr.Swalehe) was just super. I categorize the quality of a guide with my own standards. ①Knowledgeability ② Safe drive ③ A vision including a dynamic one ④ Delicate attention ⑤ Network

①You can ask anything and you can have answers. You know how to distinguish many types antelopes that are so alike.
② No flat tire, No stuck. We crossed a river for the first time in our life. Back then, there were 3 safari cars including us. Another driver sounds like “I am trying to cross, why not come with us?” and drive to the bank and check the river. What happens next? He sounds like “OK, first you cross and I will follow.” what!? Well. Our Mr. Salehe took the lead and succeeded. This experience comes all from the Mr. Salehe’s skill and confidence.
③ Our guide’s vision is a kind of supernatural. He found a rhinoceros far from the top of the hill but it was difficult for us to see even through a binocular. When we got closer to it and enjoyed watching, another driver asked him where we can see it.
⑤ He has many friends wherever we go. This is an advantage to make our next plan. Mr. Salehe was a driver carrying rangers at Ngorongoro conservation area. A ranger at the gate of Ngorongoro gave a compliment “He is the best guide I know.”

It is important to choose a company that runs a tight ship. Before we start our safari, Mr.Gideon came to meet us at hotel and check the schedule. And after safari, Mr.Zepha met us to have our feedback. I noticed their passion and commitment to satisfy their clients.

This is our review and we definitely give 5 stars to RA safaris for they gave us an unforgettable time in our life.

The major animals and scenes we saw
<BIG5!>
⚫︎more than 30 lions(single male lions、3 male lions together、3 prides、one couple mating, almost everyday except Arusha national park.) ⚫4 single leopards (2 on the tree, 2 in the bush) ⚫︎ Hundreds of buffalos ⚫ almost hundred elephants, a baby was fed ⚫5 rhinoceros, a baby was fed.
<Fight> ⚫Thomson’s gazelle for over 10 minutes ⚫︎ Male lions for a short periods ⚫Lions vs. elephants
<Mating>⚫︎lion ⚫hippos under water
<Meal time>⚫baby cheetahs ate an impala ⚫︎Vultures ate an elephant︎ ⚫Hyaeninae ate hyaeninae!! Our guide said a lion could kill the hyaeninae

And countless migrating birds!

2014年12月25日〜2015年1月4日まで10泊11日間 ガイド付きプライベートツアーを利用させていただきました。500以上もあると言われる現地サファリ会社 それに加え日本の提携会社の大勢の中からここを選んだのは、①メールでの応対の速さ②メールの内容③料金が挙げられます。
①旅行の計画を立てることは楽しいことである反面、仕事が忙しいと面倒くさく感じることもしばしばあります。選択肢が多ければ多いほど、早く見切りをつけて絞っていくことが肝心であります。いくつか旅行会社にあたりましたが、この会社はほぼ24時間以内に返事が返ってきます。
②事前調査から、サファリの体験記によって個人差がかなりあることを感じました。同じ場所であっても見えたり見えなかったり。それを「運」と呼んで済ましてしまうには、もったいないくらいのお金と時間を使ってアフリカに行くわけですから、私としては なるべく「今」の「現地情報」を事前収集したいわけです。Mr.Eliとのメールをやり取りしているうちに、ガイドブックや各人の体験記よりも説得力のある説明を受けました。当初はLake NatronもしくはLake Manyaraへ行く予定でありましたが、Tarangire国立公園に変更したのもMr.Eliの説明のおかげと思っております。こういった説得力のある説明をすぐに頂けるのは現地会社の強みでしょう。 また、初回のメールで「旅程表は変更可能だから、いろいろ希望を提示してね」と言ってくださり、それから2度ほど旅程を変更しました。他の会社ですと、こちらの要望に対して一方通行な説明や簡素なプランニングだけをメールされたので(最悪の場合、メールの返事すらない)、こちらの会社のメールには光るものがありました。
③仲介会社を通さないのでその分、浮きます。10泊11日のプライベートツアーで、この料金なら満足しない訳がないです。プライベートツアーにしたのは、やはり気ままに写真撮影をしたいからです。グループだと自分が撮りたいと思ってドライバーさんに停泊を指示したくても、周りに気を使いませんか?
蛇足ではありますが、旅行中に、お値打ちな気分になりました。それは、ガイド曰く遠すぎてリスクを避けて誰も寄らないセレンゲティ国立公園の果ての動物出没スポットに連れてもらった時のことです。そこには、かの有名な写真雑誌のNG社が主催するツアーの車が3台しかいませんでした。NG社の寄るところだから、それこそ写真撮影にはお墨付きのスポットと思います。きっと彼らは私の2倍以上の旅行代金を払ったことでしょう(Official siteで確認済み)。しかも、彼らは相乗り15人ですよ。
<体験>
10泊11日で中9日間サファリ+1日アルーシャ市内観光をしました。ガイドのMr.Salehe(及びMr.Swalehe)のガイド力は、最高でした。これまで、プライベートツアーを含め幾つかガイドを頼んだ事がありますが、1,2を争うでしょう。(もう一人はガラパゴス諸島のガイド)サファリガイドの能力の指標は①知識量②ドライブの安全性③視力(動体視力も!)④気配り⑤同業の友達の多さにまとめられると思います。 ①どんな質問でも答えが返ってきます。見分けのつきにくい動物のポイント等々も教えてくれますし、自分が前日見た事を忘れたのも思い出させてくれました(笑)②一度もスタックしてませんしパンクもしませんでした。4WDで川越えを初体験しました。この時は他のドライバー2人に先じて越えてましたから、運転に対する自信があったからなのでしょう。おかしなことに、他のドライバーさんが「俺が行くぜ!」って威勢良く言ってたのに、いつの間にか「お前たち先に行ってくれ!」なんて言ってました(笑)③Mr.Saleheの視力の良さはズバ抜けてます。高台から遠くにいるサイ(タンザニアでは稀少な動物)を見つけ出し、追って近づいてくれました。それこそ我々では双眼鏡で見ても粒にしか見えませんでした。近くに着いたら、他のドライバーさんに「本当にいるのか?」と聞かれて居場所を教えてましたよ。他にも、あそこにあれがいる、ここにこれがいると言われて「どこ?」と何度聞いたことか。④運転中にシャッター音が聞こえたら、必ず止まってエンジンを切ってくれました。自分としては何度も遭遇しているし、エンジンを落として停まるのは時間がもったいないかなと思ってたのですが、そういう応対をしてくれました。そのうち、こちらと息が合うようになって、見たことがないものはもちろん今まで通り止まり、何度も見たものは「あれがいる」と指摘して、そのまま通り過ぎるようになってくれました。運転中に妻と日本語で疑問に思うことを会話していると、会話の雰囲気から察知して「質問ある?」と聞かれました。流石ですね。⑤どのサファリパーク、ホテル、公園出入り口のどこをとっても、友達がいます。どこに行ってもMambo vip?と挨拶しあってから会話してます。これが、情報交換の強みとなって次の計画を立てやすくなるようです。彼はもともとNgoroNgoroでレンジャーのドライバーをやっていたそうです。Ngorongoroの入り口ではレンジャーに「君たち、このガイドはベストだよ。そう思わなかったら、俺を蹴飛ばしに戻ってこい」なんて冗談言われました。

会社のマネージメントも大事な要素です。サファリ開始前にはMr.Gideonがツアーの内容の確認にホテルまで足を運んでくれました。事前にお互いの意思確認は大事ですよね。そしてサファリ終了後にMr.Zephaが会いにきてくださり、感想を伝えました。Feedbackを大事にして会社をより良くしようとする姿勢が溢れてました。

さて、日本人の大方の人にとっての関心事と思いますが、タンザニアは公用語がスワヒリ語に加えて英語になっております。日本の支社がないとツアーを頼みにくいかもしれません。しかし、それほど難しい会話のやり取りはしないので、心配しなくてもいいのではないかと思います。パッケージで決められた旅行をするのもいいかもしれませんが、自分がイメージしていたサファリとはズレる可能性があります。あれがしたい! これが見たい!という思いが強ければ、是非ともこのツアー会社に相談することをお勧めします。サファリは時期によって見られる動物が全然違いますし、また単に⚪︎⚪︎国立公園といっても山手線内側の面積の数十倍もする広大な土地から探すことになりますので、ガイドの力量に大いに依存します。私たちは期待以上に幅広い動物を見ることができました。
最後に、RA safarisから最高の感動をくださったことにお礼を申し上げたいと思います。 Asante sana. Tutaonana.

備考:主な見た動物 見たシーン 
<BIG5制覇!>
⚫︎ライオン 30匹以上(雄ライオン単独、雄ライオン2匹一緒にいた所、プライド3つ、カップル1組(交尾目撃) アルーシャ国立公園を除けば(←もともと全くいない)毎日ライオンは見ました。) ⚫︎ヒョウ 4匹 (樹の上2匹、ヤブ2匹) ⚫︎バッファロー ⚫︎象(100頭は超える、授乳シーンあり)⚫︎サイ 4頭!(授乳シーンあり)
<決闘シーン> ⚫︎トムソンガゼルのリーダーを決める喧嘩(10分以上) ⚫︎雄ライオン同士の喧嘩(短かったけど)⚫︎ライオンと象(象の勝ち これは迫力あった)
<交尾シーン>⚫︎ライオン ⚫︎カバ(半分水に浸かっているので言われないと分かりにくい)
<食事シーン>⚫︎ヒョウの赤ちゃんがインパラを食べていた。 ⚫︎ハゲワシ等が象の肉を食べていた。⚫︎ハイエナが、おそらくライオンに殺されてたであろうハイエナを食べていた。
そのほか 限りない種類の渡り鳥!
Meet and greet team
5 Stars
Quality of vehicles
5 Stars
Responsiveness of staff
5 Stars
Knowledge of guide
5 Stars
Quality of itinerary
5 Stars
Overall rating
5 Stars
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
10 people gave this review kudus.
Showing the 10 most recent reviews See all reviews

(5/5 stars) Written on   |   Visited: Jun 2016.
RA Safaris are a locally owned company who go out of their way to make your safari experience a memorable. There is personal attention and the cook and driver/ranger look after your every need. Selehle, our ranger went out of his way, his knowledge of birds was no 1. He never seemed to tire with all the driving and the horrendous roads and kept a smile on his fa... read more

I visited

TanzaniaTanzania
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
7 people gave this review kudus.
Reviewed by:

(5/5 stars) Written on   |   Visited: May 2016.
Words cannot describe the amazing safari adventure we experienced.
Our guides were the BEST and provided such knowledge about the most beautiful land I have laid eyes on. Countless memories were made and I will highly recommend RA Safaris to anyone thinking of embarking on this trip of a lifetime.
I have never left a vacation so anxiously wanting to return. read more

I visited

TanzaniaTanzania
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
7 people gave this review kudus.
Reviewed by:

(5/5 stars) Written on   |   Visited: Dec 2015.
This is perhaps the best journey we (my wife and I) have ever had. We had not had enough time for comparing different agencies and worried about the quality of the agency we chose at first, but our worry proved unnecessary. The consultant was very helpful in making a enjoyable, game-rich itinerary and receiving us in Tanzania. The driver-guide, Omary, was nice and ... read more

I visited

TanzaniaTanzania
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
8 people gave this review kudus.

(5/5 stars) Written on   |   Visited: Oct 2015.
An exciting safari with a perfect organization. All staff very very kind with us and our guide Edward very knowledgeable and experienced about the safari, the life in the savannah and all animals. Accommodations and food were perfect for us: very comfortable for our trip. All trips and transfer were included and it was great.
We absolutely advise to choose RA Safa... read more

I visited

TanzaniaTanzania
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
6 people gave this review kudus.
Reviewed by:

(5/5 stars) Written on   |   Visited: Sep 2015.
We just recently came back from a tailored made safari throughout Tanzania's Northern parks. We had chosen RA Safaris because they answered our tour expectations, responded very fast to our requests and were fairly priced.
Our group's expectations (we were 5 seniors) were met by a great organization and flawless work done by the GEZ team and by our guide Elly, who... read more

I visited

TanzaniaTanzania
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
9 people gave this review kudus.
Reviewed by:

(5/5 stars) Written on   |   Visited: Aug 2015.
My family and I recently returned from 11 days on safari with RA Safaris. We had a great experience with every aspect of our safari. Eli made planning the safari very easy and he is very responsive. Zeph and Gideon are very friendly and gracious, and took care of all our transfers. Our guide, Salehe, was superb! We enjoyed getting to know him. He is extremely knowl... read more

I visited

TanzaniaTanzania
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
9 people gave this review kudus.

(5/5 stars) Written on   |   Visited: Aug 2015.
Our guide Elly, location, car, air tranfer, everything was great during our stay.
Ra Safaris staff was perfectly organized to satisfy all our needs.
Thank you again Ra Safaris to make our trip unforgettable. read more

I visited

TanzaniaTanzania
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
11 people gave this review kudus.

(5/5 stars) Written on   |   Visited: Aug 2014.
My wife and I performed a safari in Tanzania last August. Starting from Arusha, and the guy (Eli) get us on Kilimanjaro airport. We have visited Tarangire, Lake Manyara, Ngorongoro Crater and Serengeti. We stayed in luxury lodges and in fantastic tented camps. The trip was so exciting, for sure the perfect organization of Gideon, Eli and Zeph has deeply contributed... read more

I visited

TanzaniaTanzania

I saw

Cheetah
Leopard
Hippopotamus
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
12 people gave this review kudus.
Reviewed by:

(5/5 stars) Written on   |   Visited: Jul 2014.
We had an excellent 6 night trip with RA Safaris in July of this summer. The team was very helpful with planning and patient with our questions. Zef met us right off the bus, and was a friendly welcome to the trip.
Our guide Edward was awesome - very knowledgeable, friendly, and fun. We really enjoyed our time with him.

The accommodation and food were basic, bu... read more

I visited

TanzaniaTanzania
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
13 people gave this review kudus.
Reviewed by:

(5/5 stars) Written on   |   Visited: Jun 2014.
This June we did a 2 person 4wd safari tour around the North of Tanzania part camping and part lodges/tents. A cook went along making every day very nice meals, which was always more than enough.
We went to Arusha parc, Ngorongoro, Serengeti, Lake Manyara, Tarangire, Lake Natron so it was a fully packed adventure. We've seen so many animals and even were lucky eno... read more

I visited

TanzaniaTanzania
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
11 people gave this review kudus.

Safari tour packages (5)   See all tour packages

Change currency:

RA Safaris

- We offer private/custom safaris
- We offer group tours/safaris
- Our main focus is: High-end safaris
- We book pre/post-safari attractions
- We have 5 tour packages listed
T: +255732972432
Since: Dec 2004

Epic traveler visited

See map

Learn more about

Epic traveler shared a highlight

Epic traveler

We did what we wanted. "Viewing BIG 5"

Epic traveler saw these animals

African buffalo
African buffalo
Baboon
Baboon
Bat-eared fox
Bat-eared fox
Expand/Reduce animals

Epic traveler did these activities

Bird watching
Bird watching
Boating / canoeing
Boating / canoeing
Game drives
Game drives
Expand/Reduce activities
Shortlisted tour operators You can shortlist up to
5 tour operators